Header Image

Workplace Literacy and Basic Skills Training Program

Free Skills Training ENSURES YOUR ECONOMIC GROWTH 

The Workplace Literacy and Basic Skills Training Program is a partnership of the New Jersey Business & Industry Association, the New Jersey Community College Consortium for Workforce and Economic Development, and the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development. The partners (representing business, higher education, and state government) came together to ensure New Jersey businesses have a well-trained and highly skilled workforce for future economic growth and prosperity. 

 WE CAN HELP: 

  • Get your employees trained in your county at NO CHARGE 
  • Language, literacy, and business skills training offered at your local Community College or at your facility 
  • Customized training available for your company’s needs 

HOW IT WORKS:

  • Tuition funded by unemployment payroll taxes employers already pay to New Jersey
  • Easy sign-up and no company financial information required 
  • Company must be registered in the State of NJ and in compliance with NJ tax laws 
  • Employees must be paid for the time spent in training
  • Training for individual employees or customized training at a college or your facility (minimum 10 employees) 

PROVEN Business Skills Training Success

Since the program started in 2007, more than 11,000 employers have sent over 188,000 employees to be trained at New Jersey’s 18 Community Colleges. 

FREE TRAINING

Improve the Skills of Your Employees

Technology Training:

Windows®, MS Office 365®, MS Word®, Excel®, PowerPoint®, and Outlook® 

Databases, PC Data Storage, and Cloud Computing 

Enhanced Business Skills Training
for Your Employees

Business Skills Training:

Verbal, Written, and Customer Service Communications 

Measurements/Mathematics 

Professionalism 

Problem Solving/Critical Thinking 

Team Building 

Time Management, Team Leadership 

Supervisory/Management Skills 

Improve the Workplace Communications and Literacy of Your Employees

Language Training:

English as a Second Language (three levels) 

Spanish for Managers, and Spanish in the Workplace (two levels) 


Contact Your Local Community College to Get Started:

For more information, please contact Angela Androla at info@njworkforce.org 
or (609) 393-9000. 

Atlantic Cape Community College (Atlantic, Cape May) 
Scott Griffin
sgriffin@atlantic.edu
(609) 343-5651 

Bergen Community College 
Tamara Vaughan
tvaughan@bergen.edu
(201) 612-5300 

Brookdale Community College (Monmouth) 
Susan Pagano
spagano@brookdalecc.edu
(732) 224-2685 

Camden County College 
Carol McCormick
cmccormick@camdencc.edu
(856) 874 6025 

County College of Morris 
Alexandra Hoffmann
ahoffmann@ccm.edu
(973) 328-5186 

Essex County College 
Carmen Pichardo
pichardo@essex.edu
(973) 877-3172 

Hudson County Community College 
Keirsten Gordon
kgordon@hccc.edu
(201) 360-4234 

Mercer County Community College 
Jennifer Kaklamanis
kaklamaj@mccc.edu
(609) 570-3279 

Middlesex College 
Aileen Vega
avega@middlesexcc.edu
(732) 906-4681 

Ocean County College 
Ryan Sulzbach
rsulzbach@ocean.edu
(732) 255-0400 

Passaic County Community College 
Renee Griggs
rgriggs@pccc.edu
(973) 684-6202 

Raritan Valley Community College (Hunterdon, Somerset) 
Aubrey Flanagan
aubrey.flanagan@raritanval.edu
(908) 526-1200 x8529 

Rowan College of South Jersey (Cumberland) 
Shawn Thomas
scthomas@rcbc.edu
(856) 222- 9311 ext. 1318

Rowan College of South Jersey (Gloucester) 
Allen Magid
amagid@rcsj.edu
(856) 468-5000 x5503 

Rowan College of Burlington County 
Ann McCollum
amccollum@rcbc.edu
(856) 242-5261 

Salem Community College 
Ron Burkhardt
rburkhardt@salemcc.edu
(856) 351-2608 

Sussex County Community College 
Linda Connor
lconnor@sussex.edu
(973) 300-2132 

Union County College 
Lisa Hiscano
hiscano@ucc.edu
(908) 965-2358 

Warren County Community College 
Dawn Smith
dsmith3@warren.edu
(908) 689-7613 

Top